 |
What's this?
This logo denotes databases that are part of the TexShare database program. The TexShare databases are paid for by the Texas State Library and Archives Commission (TSLAC) for use by registered patrons of
Texas public libraries, Texas State governmental agency libraries, Texas academic libraries, and libraries of clinical medicine.
For more information about the TexShare database program, please visit TexShare's library patron FAQs. |
| |
Academic OneFile
|
Extensive journal coverage spanning virtually every area of academic study. Full text articles available for a large percentage of titles. Includes many peer reviewed titles. |
 |
Academic
Search Complete
|
Extensive journal coverage spanning virtually every
area of academic study. Full text articles available for a large percentage of titles. Includes many peer reviewed titles. |
| |
AccessScience |
Includes the latest content of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology and the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific
and Technical Terms. Contains articles written by the leading figures in their fields—including 30 Nobel Prize winners. |
| |
ACS
Web Editions |
Online access to over 30 journals published by the American
Chemical Society. |
 |
AGRICOLA |
Topics covered include: animal & veterinary sciences,
entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture & fisheries, farming & farming
systems, agricultural economics, extension & education, food & human
nutrition, and earth & environmental sciences. Some links to full-text. |
| |
Agriculture Collection |
With a strong emphasis on full-text coverage of titles in the Agricola Index, Agriculture Collection comprises over 400 agricultural periodicals powered by InfoTrac as well as relevant, in-depth reference titles. |
 |
Alt
Health Watch |
Provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum
of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine dating back
to 1990. Includes full text for many peer-reviewed journals. |
| |
America:
History and Life
|
Covers the history and culture of the U. S. and Canada from
prehistory to the present. Contains abstracts and citations to journal articles,
books and media reviews & dissertations. |
| |
Archive for Research in Archetypal Symbolism |
The ARAS archive contains approximately 17,000 photographic images, each cross-indexed and accompanied by scholarly commentary. The commentary includes a description of the image with a cultural history that serves to place it in its unique historical and geographical setting. Often it also includes an archetypal commentary that brings the image into focus for its modern psychological and symbolic meaning, as well as a bibliography for related reading and a glossary of technical terms. |
| |
ATLA
Religion Database |
Coverage for research literature of religion
in 35 languages. Contains more than 1.3 million bibliographic records. |
 |
Bibliography
of Native North Americans |
Covers all aspects of native North American culture, history,
and life, as well as wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural
relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. BNNA contains more than
80,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents
of the United States and Canada . Dates of coverage for included content range
from the sixteenth century to the present. |
| |
Biology
Journals, Proquest |
Full-text articles on biological topics published since
1988 from scholarly
journals and popular magazines in science. |
| |
Books
In Print |
Title, author, ISBN number, and publisher
information for over 3.4 million books. Includes 600,000 full-text reviews. |
| |
Business, Economics and Theory Collection |
Business Economics and Theory Collection includes over seven million articles from 450 full-text academic journals and magazines—with a strong emphasis on titles covered in the EconLit bibliographic index. |
 |
Business
Source Complete
|
Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to
business. Indexes over 8,000 periodicals, 1,782 of which are peer-reviewed, provides
profiles for 10,000 companies |
| |
Catholic
Periodical and Literature Index Online |
Indexes citations to articles published in Roman Catholic
periodicals, Papal documents, church promulgations, and books about the Catholic
faith that are authored by Catholics and/or produced by Catholic publishers. Coverage
from 1981 to present. |
| |
Choice Reviews Online |
Contains brief reviews for scholarly books and electronic media, includingwebsites, from 1987 to present. Choice publishes approximately 7,000 reviews a year. Also contains bibliographic essays and lists of "outstanding academic titles". Users can create a personal profile to receive monthly alerts of newly published titles, as well as save and email lists of titles |
| |
The Chronicle of Higher Education |
Provides news coverage of higher education in the United States and abroad. |
| |
College
Source Online |
Over 30,695 College Catalogs with profiles of every accredited
college in the U.S. along with link to college home pages. |
| |
Communication & Mass Media Collection |
Powered by InfoTrac, Communications and Mass Media Collection brings together information found in more than 250 journals covering all aspects of the communication field. |
| |
Communication
& Mass Media Complete
|
Indexing and abstracts for journals in
areas related to communication and mass media. Includes full text for nearly 200
journals. |
| |
Computer Database |
Computer Database is a one-stop reference resource for up-to-date information on the world of high technology. With Computer Database, researchers can instantly access hundreds of today’s most well-read and infl uential periodicals in a single search. |
 |
Computer
Source |
Contains nearly 300 full text journals and magazines covering topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software. Computer Source™ provides a balance of full text technical journals and full text consumer computer titles. |
| |
Congressional Research Reports (CRS) Reports |
Originally written for members of Congress, these reports include nonpartisan, objective analysis and research on all legislative issues. Content spans from 1993 to the present and covers a range of subject areas including economics, the environment, foreign affairs, immigration, medicine, civil rights, national security, terrorism, and more. Current and archived versions of each report are included, providing comprehensive coverage of edits and amendments. |
 |
Consumer
Health Complete |
Designed to support patients' information needs and
foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. This full text database
covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness,
nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc. |
 |
Contemporary
Authors |
An index of biographical and bibliographical
information on modern writers. |
 |
Contemporary
Literary Criticism
|
More than 35,000 critical essays on contemporary authors,
with biographical, critical, principal works, and further study information. |
| |
CQ
Electronic Library |
One-stop source for
finding full-text reports, histories, and primary documents on public policy issues.
Searches CQ
Researcher, CQ
Weekly, and CQ
Public Affairs Collection. |
| |
CQ
Public Affairs Collection |
Historical and statistical summaries and analyses of vital
public policy issues, historical documents, primary source materials, and a directory
of key government, nonprofit, and private organizations in major policy areas. |
| |
CQ
Researcher |
Explores a single "hot" issue
in the news in depth each week with scrupulous objectivity and balance. Numerous
charts, graphs and sidebar articles |
| |
CQ
Weekly |
Reports on the activities of the United
States Congress. Includes announcements of upcoming Congressional events as well
as a summary of the previous week's news, including the status of bills, committee
and floor activity, debates and roll-call votes. |
| |
Credo Reference |
Credo is a vast, online reference library, providing access to the full text of hundreds of highly regarded and popular titles. And Credo brings the facts alive with images, sound files, animations, videos and much more. Find speedy, simple answers and authoritative, in-depth articles. Credo Reference contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range or subject-specific titles covering a variety of subjects. |
| |
Criminal Justice Collection |
Powered by InfoTrac, Criminal Justice Collection takes users straight to the answers they need from nearly 4.3 million articles from more than 700 journals. Criminal Justice Collection covers topics like law enforcement, homeland security, forensic science, and more. |
| |
CRS (Congressional Research service) Reports Reports |
Originally written for members of Congress, these reports include nonpartisan, objective analysis and research on all legislative issues. Content spans from 1993 to the present and covers a range of subject areas including economics, the environment, foreign affairs, immigration, medicine, civil rights, national security, terrorism, and more. Current and archived versions of each report are included, providing comprehensive coverage of edits and
amendments. |
 |
Dictionary
of Literary Biography
|
Biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and
careers of influential literary figures from all eras and genres. |
| |
Diversity Studies Collection |
Diversity Studies Collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. This set includes more than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals updated daily. |
 |
EBSCO
Animals |
For elementary school students. Provides thousands
of easy-to-read entries about mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, fish, dinosaurs
and prehistoric animals. Each entry begins with a simple category breakdown of
the animal including Kingdom, Class, Order, Genus & Species, and Geographical
Locale as well as a detailed description. Many entries include colorful images. |
 |
Economia
y Negocios |
Provides coverage for over 200 Spanish and Portuguese-language
periodicals published in Argentina , Brazil , Chile , Colombia , Spain , the
United States and elsewhere. Covers areas of business and economics. |
 |
eLibrary
Curriculum |
Designed specifically for K-12 schools and libraries.
Students find the answers they need from more than 2,000 full-text magazines,
newspapers, reference books, and transcripts-plus thousands of pictures, maps,
educator-approved websites from Homework Central®, plus audio/video content. |
| |
Emerald ManagementXtra
|
Indexes articles on various management
topics including marketing, HR and organizational development, library & information
management, and quality and operations management |
| |
Encyclopædia Britannica |
Access the most up-to-date entries within Britannica, as well as a world
atlas, Merriam-Webster Dictionary and Thesaurus, and the World Data Analyst,
containing statistics for countries all over the world. |
| |
Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law |
Now in its third edition, The Parry and Grant Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law is completely updated and expanded to include increased coverage in growing areas of international law including diplomatic law, criminal law, human rights, and more. Over 2,500 entries (over a 20% increase in content from the previous edition) provides the reader with copious references for further research including cases, treaties, journal articles, and websites. |
| |
Encyclopedia of Human Rights |
This encyclopedia offers comprehensive coverage of all aspects of human rights theory, practice, law, and history. This extraordinary work provides situation profiles and full coverage of the development of the movement, historical cases of abuse, the key figures, major organizations, and a range of other issues in economics, government, religion, and journalism that touch on human rights theory and practice. |
| |
Encyclopedia of Social Work |
Contains four hundred subject entries and two hundred brief biographies of key figures in the history of social work. Clearly arranged in A-Z format, each article is fully cross-referenced and includes a select bibliography to guide interested readers to primary sources and the most important scholarly works on a given subject. The work also includes a comprehensive index and topical outline. |
| |
Environmental Studies and Policy Collection |
Powered by InfoTrac, Environmental Studies and Policy Collection brings together full-text information found in more than 700 journals and reference content covering current environmental topics. |
 |
ERIC |
Index for all educational topics in journal articles, books,
theses, curriculi, papers and standards & guidelines |
| |
Euromonitor
Global Market Information Database |
International in scope, this provides information
on consumer lifestyles, consumer market size, major market profiles, forecasts,
companies and brands, and market analysis. |
| |
Expanded Academic ASAP |
is comprised of more than 3,500 indexed and full-text titles — of which 2,100 are peer-reviewed — in all disciplines with more than 20 years of backfile coverage and an intuitive interface that expedites successful searches. The database covers a wide range of topics including social sciences, humanities, education, science and technology. |
|
|
| |
Fine Arts and Music Collection |
Powered by InfoTrac, this database quickly places information from over 5 million articles at the finger tips of serious students of the arts. More than 150 of the journals in the Fine Arts and Music Collection are covered in the Wilson Art Index and the Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale (RILM) indexes and are available in full-text. |
 |
Fuente
Academica |
Collection of scholarly academic journals from Latin American
and Spanish publishers. Provides full text coverage for nearly 200 scholarly
Spanish language journals. Content is provided in Spanish from respected publishers
worldwide. |
 |
Funk & Wagnall's
New Encyclopedia |
Provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety
of subject areas. |
| |
Gale
Virtual Reference Library |
Delivering reference content in a database format. |
| |
GalleryWatch Congressional Research Service Reports |
Originally written for members of Congress, these reports include nonpartisan, objective analysis and research on all legislative issues. Content spans from 1993 to the present and covers a range of subject areas including economics, the environment, foreign affairs, immigration, medicine, civil rights, national security, terrorism, and more. Current and archived versions of each report are included, providing comprehensive coverage of edits and
amendments. |
| |
Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Life & Issues Collection |
Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Life & Issues Collection provides access to hundreds of thousands of articles with balanced coverage on such topics as gender studies, sexual behavior surveys, family and marital issues, conversion therapy, gay and lesbian rights, homophobia, health aspects and many more. |
| |
General OneFile |
General OneFile is a comprehensive periodical resource that puts more than 60 million articles at your fingertips with a single search query. |
| |
General Reference Center Gold |
Perfect for researchers at all levels, General Reference Center Gold features access to a wide range of full-text titles, indexes and abstracts, from national news magazines and encyclopedias to core business journals. |
| |
General Science Collection |
Updated daily, the General Science Collection includes more than 1.6 million articles from over 200 journals to satisfy almost every scientific inquiry. |
| |
Global Issues in Context |
Global Issues in Context features hundreds of continuously updated, media-rich issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health and cultural issues. The hundreds of full-text, English language international periodicals and newspapers included in Global Issues in Context offer local viewpoints, virtually transporting the user to where news is happening. |
| |
Google Scholar |
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. |
| |
Grove Art Online (now Oxford Art Online) |
Provides online access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art and The Oxford Companion to Western Art.
Also offers ongoing additions of new and updated articles, over 3,000 thumbnail art images and line drawings displayed in the text of articles, extensive image links, and sophisticated search and navigation tools. |
| |
GreenFILE |
GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. This resource offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet. The database contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles as well. |
 |
Handbook
of Texas |
Provided by the Texas State Historical Association, this
is a multidisciplinary encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture.
It comprises more than 23,000 articles on people, places, events, historical
themes, institutions, and a host of other topic categories. The scope is broad
and inclusive, designed to provide readers with concise, authoritative, and accessible
articles that provide factual, nonpartisan accounts on virtually every aspect
of Texas history and culture. |
 |
Health
and Wellness Resource Center |
Covers general interest health and fitness magazines, medical
and professional periodicals, reference books and pamphlets. |
 |
Health
Reference Center Academic |
Indexes selected general interest health
and fitness magazines, medical and professional periodicals, reference books and
pamphlets. |
 |
Health
Source: Consumer Edition |
Contains consumer health information, providing information
on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition,
childcare, sports medicine and general health. Features searchable full text
for nearly 150 journals and updated on a daily basis |
 |
Health
Source: Nursing/Academic |
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing
on many medical disciplines. Also features abstracts and indexing for nearly
850 journals and updated on a daily basis. |
 |
HeritageQuest
Online |
Contains genealogies, local histories, and more. Includes
the complete U.S. Federal Census, 1790-1930. |
| |
Historical Statistics of the United States |
Contains historical statistics on almost all aspects of the U.S., including economics, population, industry, and government. Mainly covers 1790-2000, although some tables have expanded coverage to2003. Also contains explanatory essays on issues such as poverty, labor, education, etc. |
| |
History Resource Center: U.S. |
History Resource Center: U.S. covers U.S. history from pre-colonial times to the present. It provides comprehensive coverage of more than 50 of the most-studied topics in U.S. history, and contains many primary source documents, including books, pamphlets, first-person accounts, etc. |
| |
History Resource Center: World |
History Resource Center: World covers world history topics from pre-antiquity to the present. It contains over 1600 primary sources, full text articles from more than 150 academic journals, newspaper articles, reference books, and more. |
| |
Hoover's
|
Profiles of U.S. and international companies,
both public and private. |
| |
Information Plus (2005-Present) |
Access Information Plus books online for current and past statistics,
court decisions, state and federal laws, tables and charts, results of
public opinion polls, as well as listings of relevant organizations. |
| |
Information Science and Library Issues Collection |
This collection features articles on topics related to information and library science. |
 |
Information
Science & Technology Abstracts |
Indexes journal articles from more than 450 publications
plus books, research reports, and conference proceedings and patents, with ongoing
comprehensive coverage of the most important periodicals in this field. Coverage
dates back to the mid 1960s. Some links to full-text. |
 |
Infotrac
Newspapers |
Full text articles from more than 100 newspapers, including
the Austin American-Statesman and the New York Times as far back as 1996. |
| |
Insurance and Liability Collection |
The Insurance and Liability Collection connects researchers to hundreds of thousands of articles from these leading journals related to the protection of assets. |
| |
International Directory of Company Histories (2005 - Present) |
Contains histories of companies that are a leading influence in a particular
industry or geographic location. Print volumes for company entrys written prior to 2005 are available in the reference collection. |
 |
Internet & Personal
Computing Abstracts |
Abstracts and indexing for literature related to personal
computing products and developments in business, the Internet, the home, and
all other applied areas. Over 400 of the most important trade publications, mainstream
computer magazines, and professional journals are covered, including those that
focus on specific topics such as Macintosh and Windows platforms, programming,
web development and more. |
| |
JSTOR |
Full-text backfiles for over 200 scholarly
journals, including major titles from disciplines such as mathematics, economics,
social science, history, and literature. Does not include the last 3-5 years of
each journal.
|
 |
Legal
Collection |
Full text for nearly 250 of the world's most respected,
scholarly law journals. The Legal Collection is an authoritative source for information
on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world. |
| |
LegalTrac |
Citations and some full-text articles from major law reviews,
law journals, and legal newspapers. Coverage from 1980. |
| |
LexisNexis Academic
|
Access to a wide range of news, business,
legal, medical and reference information. Mostly full-text content. |
| |
LexisNexis Congressional |
A comprehensive resource for Congressional hearings, public
issues, legislation, history, and legal research. |
| |
Library,
Information Science & Technology Abstracts |
Indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research
reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification,
cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management
and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s. |
| |
Library Literature Full Text |
Indexes English and foreign-language
library-related periodicals, selected state journals, conference proceedings,
pamphlets, books, and library school theses since 1984, plus over 300 books per
year. Includes full-text of many articles published since 1997. |
 |
Literature
Resource Center |
Contains biographical, bibliographical, and critical content
on literary figures from all time periods & genres. Includes Contemporary
Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography. |
|
Titles M-Z |